The Governing Board

 Gwen finalGwen Beauchemin

Gwen Beauchemin is the Chief Executive Officer of Tillet Consulting, a company she co-founded after two years as the Chief Information Security Officer with Payments Canada.  Before that, Gwen spent 16 years in senior roles with the Government of Canada – the last three as the Director of the Canadian Cyber Incident Response Centre in Ottawa. The first 15 years of Gwen’s career were focused on telecom software development at Bell Northern Research and Nortel.

Bob C cropRobert Crow

Robert Crow recently retired from his role as Managing Director and Executive in Residence at the Institute for Quantum Computing (IQC) at the University of Waterloo.  Prior to that, Robert had a distinguished career in policy development, government relations and administration, holding senior positions with Research In Motion, the Information Technology Association of Canada and Ryerson University.

Benoit.cropBenoît Dupont

Benoît Dupont is the holder of the Canada Research Chair in Cybersecurity, after having held the Canada Research Chair in Security and Technology between 2006 and 2016.  Benoît is a Professor of Criminology at the Université de Montréal and the Scientific Director of the Smart Cybersecurity Network (SERENE-RISC), which he founded in 2014.  He also sits as an observer representing the research community on the Board of Directors of the Canadian Cyber Threat Exchange (CCTX).

dfransen finalDavid Fransen

David Fransen is a public policy veteran, recently retired from a long and impressive career in public service with the Government of Canada, which culminated in a term as Canada’s Consul General in Los Angeles.  Prior to that, David was Assistant Deputy Minister of Policy at Industry Canada, followed by a stint at the University of Waterloo where he served as the first Executive Director of the Institute for Quantum Computing as well as Associate Vice-President of Strategic Relations.

Robert GRobert W. Gordon

Robert W. Gordon is the Executive Director, Canadian Cyber Threat Exchange (CCTX) where he has organizational responsibility to deliver cyber threat information services and lead all cyber intelligence engagements and research activities.  Most recently, Robert was a Director, Global Cyber Security at CGI.  Prior to this, he enjoyed a long and successful career in the Federal Government, which included being the architect of Canada’s Cyber Security Strategy.

Scott Jones-border2Scott Jones

Scott Jones is Head of the Canadian Centre for Cyber Security Centre. Canada’s unified source of expert advice, guidance, services and support on cyber security for government, critical infrastructure owners and operations, the private sector and the Canadian public.  He was previously Assistant Deputy Minister of the Information Technology Security program at the Canadian Security Establishment (CSE), after holding a variety of positions of increasingly responsibility across CSE, primarily in the signals intelligence and IT security domains.  Before that, Scott was seconded to the Privy Council Office as a National Security Policy Advisor in the Security and Intelligence Secretariat.

MicheleMosca-border2Michele Mosca

Michele Mosca leads Quantum-Safe Canada and sits on the Governing Board ex officio.  Michele is co-founder of the Institute for Quantum Computing (IQC) at the University of Waterloo, a Professor in the Department of Combinatorics & Optimization of the Faculty of Mathematics, and a founding member of Waterloo’s Perimeter Institute for Theoretical Physics.  He is also co-founder and Director (2012-2018) of CryptoWorks21, a training program in quantum-safe cryptography, and a founder of the ETSI-IQC workshop series in Quantum-Safe Cryptography.

Brian_OHiggins3Brian O’Higgins

Brian O’Higgins is currently a board member and advisor to several corporations.   Brian has worked in high technology and software for over 35 years, and been involved with IT security for 25 years.   Brian is probably best known for his pioneering role with PKI (public key infrastructure) – as co-founder and Chief Technology Officer of Entrust.  He was also a co-founder and Chief Technology Officer of Third Brigade, an enterprise security company that was acquired by Trend Micro in 2009.

Sherry finalSherry Shannon-Vanstone

Sherry Shannon-Vanstone recently retired from her position as Senior Executive Consultant with ETAS / ESCRYPT, which in 2017 acquired TrustPoint Innovation, a company she’d co-founded in 2012 to provide authentication products and services for securing the internet of things.  Prior to TrustPoint Innovation, Sherry held executive positions in several companies including two entrepreneurial information security companies — Cylink and Certicom.  She began her career as a cryptologic mathematician with the United States government.